2010 Lane Anderson Award Shortlist: Celebrating the Best Science Writing in Canada

Aug 16 2011 Published by under best science books 2010, science books

I just got an email from the administers of this award:

$10,000 Lane Anderson Award Shortlist Announced
Celebrating the Best Science Writing in Canada

The six finalists competing for the 2010 Lane Anderson Award were announced today by Hollister Doll and Sharon Fitzhenry, Directors of the Fitzhenry Family Foundation.

The annual Lane Anderson Award honours two jury-selected books, in the categories of adult and young reader, published in the field of science, and written by a Canadian. The winner in each category will receive $10,000. Winners will be announced on 14th September.

"We want to honour the very best science writing in Canada and were especially pleased at the quality of the 44 titles submitted this year. The final short-list was determined on relevance of content to the importance of science in today's world, and the author's ability to connect the topic to the interests of the general trade reader," said Doll and Fitzhenry.

The Lane Anderson designation honours the maiden names of Robert Fitzhenry's mother, Margaret Lane, and his wife, Hilda Anderson Fitzhenry. The Fitzhenry Family Foundation is a privately directed Canadian foundation established in 1987 by Canadian publisher Robert I. Fitzhenry (1918-2008). The Lane Anderson Award is administered by Christopher Alam, a partner at the law firm of Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP

Adult Titles Shortlist

There's a York University connection here with Keeping the Bees by Laurence Packer.

Young Readers Shortlist

The award website is here.

No responses yet

Leave a Reply